Mabele Porridge – Sorghum Porridge

I have fond childhood memories of this porridge. My mom used to make it every morning during winter, and we enjoyed it in our living room, cuddled up in blankets. I used to enjoy it with butter and brown sugar.

Sorghum/Mabele Meal: thingzafrikan.wordpress.com Mabele Porridge: zimbokitchen.com

This is how Mabele Porridge is made. This recipe is for 6 to 7 servings.

1. Boil 8 cups of water in a saucepan.

2. In a separate bowl, mix 2 cups of cold water, 2 cups of sorghum meal and a pinch of salt to taste into a paste.

3. Add paste to the boiling water and stir.

4. Simmer for 20 minutes while stirring continuously, until cooked.

5. Serve with milk, butter and brown sugar if desired.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Thank you, I was looking for how to do it as it brought childhood memories and my granny is no more .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment